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Weber County Human Resources Policy 4-400: Workers’ Compensation

I. Purpose

This policy complies with Utah’s Workers’ Compensation Act, Utah’s Occupational Disease Act, and Utah’s Volunteer Government Workers Act.

II. Policy

Weber County provides workers’ compensation coverage for all employees, interns and volunteers injured on the job, unless they are excluded from coverage under state law.

III. Procedures

A. Workers’ Compensation Benefits

1. Reporting

a. Report the injury or illness to your supervisor immediately.  If you fail to report an injury or illness within 180 days, you may be disqualified from receiving workers’ compensation benefits.
i. Employee must fill out First Report of Incident 
b. If an employee dies or incurs a disabling injury:
i. The supervisor must immediately contact the Risk Manager.
ii. The Risk Manager must contact the Division of Occupational Safety and Health of the Utah Labor Commission within eight hours after the incident occurs.
c. Within twenty-four (24) hours of being notified of any injury, an administrator, supervisor or designee must:
i. Complete the Employer’s Accident Investigation Report (Supervisor Form).
ii. Give a copy of the completed form to the injured employee.
d. An employee injured on the job will be paid for the scheduled hours missed on the day of the accident.

2. Access to Medical Services

a. [bookmark: _GoBack]The County designates its contracted occupational medicine clinic to be its preferred provider for injured workers.  This clinic is WorkMed, 1355 W. 3400 S., Ogden, UT 84401.  Except in cases of life- or limb-threatening injuries and/or after hours, an injured employee should seek initial medical care through this preferred provider.   In the event that the employee prefers not to use WorkMed, they may report to McKay Dee Hospital, 4401 Harrison Blvd., Ogden, UT 84403.  In case of life- or limb-threatening injuries and/or after hours, initial care may be provided at any appropriate medical facility.
b. After an injured worker has received initial care from the preferred provider, the injured worker may obtain subsequent medical care from a qualified provider of his or her choice.
c. Employees may make one change of doctor without prior approval, by completing an application to change doctors, and submitting the form to Worker Compensation Fund.  Subsequent changes must be pre-approved.

3. If an employee is injured on the job or suffers from a qualifying occupational disease, Workers’ Compensation will pay the employee or the employee’s family for the following items, subject to statutory limits and requirements:

a. hospital and medical bills
b. time lost from work
c. a permanent loss of body functions
d. artificial appliances
e. death and burial benefits

4. Wage Replacement Payments

a. An employee with a medical release from work will receive wage replacement in the following manner according to Utah Workers’ Compensation Law:

	Medical Release from Work
	Payments by Workers Compensation

	
Day of Injury
	
Treated as a work day

	
Less than 3 days
	
None

	
1-14 days
	
All EXCEPT first 3 days

	
More than 14 days
	
All (Including reimbursement for first 3 days)



5. Weekend days and holidays are included when counting the number of days off.  Time off does not need to be consecutive but must be confirmed by a doctor’s report.

6. The treating medical provider must document time away from work following the date of injury where the employee is totally unable to work, or unable to work a full shift.

7. The employee may use available leave to supplement workers’ compensation payments but may not exceed total gross earnings.

8. Following a doctor’s declaration that an employee may return to full duty, occasional absences from work related to the original injury (doctor’s appointments, etc.) will be charged to sick leave Employees assigned to light duty are compensated at their regular rate of pay for hours worked.

9. Workers’ compensation fraud, including the filing of a false claim for medical or disability compensation or the exaggeration of the severity of an injury, is a crime punishable by fines and confinement in a state prison.  Any employee who becomes aware of a situation that may constitute workers’ compensation fraud should report it to the Risk Manager immediately. 

10. Employees who have questions or disputes regarding Workers’ Compensation benefits and payments should contact the Risk Manager.  Employees may also request a hearing with the Adjudication Division of the Utah Labor Commission.

11. Employees on Workers’ Compensation may continue existing County insurance coverage by paying the employee’s portion of the total premium.


DATED this 		 day of 				, 2022. 
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